New Zealand’s central government is based in the country’s capital city, Wellington. Currently New Zealand has a National Party-led government with a general election to be held in 2017.

The New Zealand Cabinet is the most senior policy and decision-making body and is led by the Prime Minister and leader of the National Party, John Key. The key Cabinet committee concerned with economic growth and development is the Cabinet Economic Growth and Infrastructure Committee.

Key Ministries focused on economic development include; the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE); the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT); the Ministry of Tourism, and New Zealand Treasury.



New Zealand is divided into 16 regions. The Waikato district sits within the greater Waikato region. The Waikato region includes the areas covered by 11 separate local territorial authorities (also known as Councils) that govern the following areas:

Each district or city has its own set of elected representatives, included an elected Mayor.

In addition, the Waikato Regional Council works across the region, alongside all 11 councils, to help manage the region’s natural and physical resources. All councils work collaboratively together via the Waikato Mayoral Forum.

Four of the councils (Waikato District Council, Waipa District Council, Hamilton City Council and Waikato Regional Council), along with the New Zealand Transport Agency and tangata whenua also collaborate on a sub-regional growth strategy called Future Proof.


Waikato District Council governs the Waikato district, which is part of the greater Waikato region. Waikato District Council is led by Mayor Allan Sanson, who leads 13 councillors representing 10 wards. These 10 wards are: Awaroa ki Tuakau, Eureka, Huntly, Hukanui Waerenga, Newcastle, Ngaruawahia, Onewhero, Tamahere, Raglan, Whangamarino. More information can be found here.

In addition, five community boards and five community committees provide valuable local input on specific issues.

The Council is funded largely by annual rates levied on its ratepayers. The rates fund a wide range of services provided by the council, including services dedicated to economic growth and the development of sustainable communities throughout the district.

At an operational level, the council employs 300 staff led by chief executive, Gavin Ion.

Plans and strategy

Waikato District Council and its regional partners have developed a broad range of documents, policies and plans. They provide a rich source of information to help investors make informed decisions about opportunities offered in the Waikato district.


Contact Us

Please enter name
Please enter your email
Please enter a subject
Please enter a message

External link

This data is stored on the WDC site, click here or wait 5secs. the page will open in a new tab so you can return to this site at any time

We are now redirecting you to an external site, we have no control over and are not responsible for